Rhyds Destiny captures coveted All-Ireland Harness Final at Clonakilty

Posted on: 8th September, 2014

Category: News

Contributor: West Cork People

Rhyds Destiny joined the ranks of the elite in harness racing in West Cork when capturing the coveted All Ireland Harness Final at Clonakilty last Sunday. 

Seven runners lined up for the premier event on the calendar and Rhyds Destiny with Mike Kelleher in the bike set a blistering early pace on this mile and three furlong event. Best of The Fleet went in pursuit of the pace maker along with Ringo Star and Miraculous Return but this was a day that Rhyds Destiny met his ‘Destiny’ and ran out an easy eight length winner from Ringo Star who had won the stayers championship at the three day Tregaron festival in Wales last week .

The winner is jointly owned by Leap based John Shanahan and Aiden Hayes and John Mycock a Derbyshire dairy farmer in the UK, who is a regular visitor to the West Cork area and has in the past been associated with Fidlin another All Ireland winner.

Winning driver Mike Kelleher drove two winners on the day having earlier coming off the pace in the final furlong to win on Meadowbranch Kiki who won his maiden at the same fixture last year.

IB Maximus another to win in Wales last week followed up with a hard fought win in the Grade 1 and 2. This son of Kikicolt took to this testing track to hold off Rocokoko and The Hitman in a blanket finish to ensure driver Donal Murphy the 2014 ITHRF drivers’ championship.

Mr Security with owner ‘Red’ John O’Donovan in the bike notched up another win in his best season to date. Drawn in pole position this son of Cams Security led from the start and his five-length winning margin may have been a lot more if required .

IB Mohican has found end-of-season form and denied 2014 ITHRF horse of the year Sunnyside Kildare his seventh local win. Seamus Quill was seen at his best to deny ‘Kildare’ another win.

The talented, but at times erratic, Millers Boy broke his maiden in a fashion that suggests that 2015 may bring further honours for this son of Timon Del Sol who gave Brickley Racing yet another win in a season that saw the Baltimore based stables win their first Ballabuidhe Grand Prix.



Maiden & Novice 

1. Shelley Brickley MILLERS BOY  C Brickley


3. Talavary Stud TALAVARY TIARA M Kelleher

DIST 3l 12l TIME 2.10.6 SP EV 3/1 3/1

Novice & Grade 1 

1. Kelleher Bros MEADOWBRANCH KIKI  M Kelleher


3. D O Brien NAVY BLUE  M O Brien

DIST 1/2l 1/2l TIME 2.12.4 SP 5/2 2/1 3/1

Grade 1 & 2 

1. IB Stables IB MAXIMUS  D Murphy

2. B Duggan ROCOKOKO  J O Donovan

3. J Hill THE HITMAN K Sheehy

DIST 1l SH TIME 2.12.4 SP 6/4 6/4 3/1

Grade 2 – 4 

1. F Quill IB MOHICAN  S Quill

2. S Buckley SUNNYSIDE KILDARE  D Murphy

3. K Connolly TALENTED MAN  K Sheehy

DIST 1/2l 4l TIME 2.08.8 SP 3/1 4/5 3/1

Grade 4 & 5 

1. J O Donovan MR SECURITY Owner

2. Marie Moloney CAMDEN JIMMY M O Reilly

3. F Quill IB RAPIDO  D Quill

DIST 5l 1/2l TIME 2.10.6


(Sponsored by Bernies Bar Clonakilty)

1. Shanahan /Mycock /Hayes RHYDS DESTINY M Kelleher

2. F Brickley RINGO STAR C Brickley


DIST 8l 1l TIME 3.06.7 SP 4/7 4/1 5/1

Latest News Articles:

Issue of childcare a major concern for 72 per cent of female entrepreneurs
Rain, slurry deadlines and housing
Celtic Ross Hotel awarded AA Rosette for Culinary Excellence
St. Joseph’s in Clonakilty looks back on 50 years of educating young girls
‘Operation Transformation’ for Young Beef Farmers
Macra President welcomes publication of EU Young Farmer Survey
Vital role of Focus in the West Cork community highlighted at Open Morning
Clonakilty Food Company opens new production facility in Clonakilty
Beara student one of three Cork students awarded €20,000 scholarship by Naughton Foundation
International success for Skibb rowers

Join us on Facebook

Bandon Walled Town Festival in looking for new ideas!
Would you like to get involved in the 2018 Festival?If you yourself would like to be involved in big or small way
email bandonwalledtown@gmail.com
... See MoreSee Less

11th October, 2017  ·  

Submarines, American Sailors, and the Underwater War in Irish Waters, 1917-1918
by Dr John Borgonovo in The Parish Centre, Clonakilty
on Thursday Oct 26 2017 at 8.30 pm

In 1917, unrestricted submarine warfare by German U-boats brought the United States into WWI and created a crisis in Britain. To defeat the submarine menace, an American naval fleet was dispatched to County Cork, bringing about 10,000 sailors with it. This talk will explain the circumstances of this extraordinary event, and how Cork residents dealt with their unexpected American guests.

Dr John Borgonovo is a lecturer in the School of History at UCC. His publications include Spies, Informers, and the 'Anti-Sinn Féin' Society: The Intelligence War in Cork City, 1920-1921; The Dynamics of War and Revolution: Cork City, 1916-1918; Exercising a close vigilance over their daughters: Cork women, American sailors, and Catholic vigilantes, 1917-18; Something in the Nature of a Massacre: The Bandon Valley Killings Revisited (with Andy Bielenberg). His latest publication (with co-authors John Crowley, Donal Ó Drisceoil and Mike Murphy) is the highly acclaimed and magnificient Atlas of the Irish Revolution. In July of this year, he organised a very successful conference on Winning the Western Approaches - Unrestricted Submarine Warfare and the US Navy in Ireland 1917-1918.
... See MoreSee Less

11th October, 2017  ·  

Apple Juicing Day in Clonakilty next Sunday Sept 30th. All welcome to bring their apples from 2-6pm to the Clonakilty Community Garden (on entrance road to Clonakilty Lodge).

Building on the success of its inaugural 2016 event, local voluntary environmental organisation Sustainable Clonakilty invites people to bring along their apples and press them to extract their own juice to take home, using the group's Apple Press.

Volunteers will be at hand to assist in the procedure. Bring along your apples washed; clean containers to freeze your juice (milk/juice bottles or cartons, plastic bottles with caps); clean, sterilised glass bottles to pasteurise with swing caps or suitable for 26 mm diameter metal cap.

A limited number of new 3 litres juice bags that are suitable for freezing and pasteurising, can be purchased for a nominal fee on the day also.

This is a free community event and donations will be welcome to cover costs.

For further information, please contact Xavier at xavierdubuisson@gmail.com or text at 086/0476124.
... See MoreSee Less

26th September, 2017  ·  

Jump to: