Schull Drama’s ‘No Man’s Land’ victorious at West Cork Drama Festival

Posted on: 3rd April, 2018

Category: Arts & Entertainment

Contributor: West Cork People

The 57th West Cork Drama Festival drew to a close on St Patrick’s night with Gorey Drama Group’s production of James Wesley’s emotional family drama ‘Unbroken Circle’ followed by the festival results. The Scottish adjudicator, Dr. Russel Boyce, bedecked in tartan trousers for the auspicious occasion regaled the audience once again with his theatrical insights and humorous asides. With a nod to the Irish Grand Slam win he even sported an Ireland supporters hat, before taking it off to get down to the announcement of the results. He complimented the high standard of drama and the very impressive sets staged by the groups partaking in the festival.

In the confined section Schull Drama Group’s production of the Pinter classic ‘No Man’s Land’ swept the boards. It took first place in this section with Director Jennifer Williams taking the ‘Best Director’ trophy, Anthony Harris the ‘Best Actor’ award for the role of ‘Hirst’ and Pat Bracken the ‘Best Supporting Actor’ award for his role as ‘Spooner’. In addition the interplay between the actors of the two key role ‘Hirst’ and ‘Spooner’ was given a special adjudicator award.

Second place went to neighbouring West Cork group Skibbereen Theatre Society’s presentation of Mike Leigh’s comedy ‘Abigail’s Party’ with Bernie Whooley taking the ‘Best Supporting Actress’ award for this section. The Paddy Keohane Cup was also awarded to this production.

Curtain Call Productions, from Dungarvan came third with Neil La Bute’s contemporary drama ‘Some Girls’. Vanessa Hyde who played the role of ‘Lindsay’ in this play took the ‘Best Actress’ award in this section.

In the open section, Brideview Drama from Tallow took first place with their emotive contemporary Irish Drama ‘Stolen Child’ by Bairbre Ni Chaoimh and Yvonne Quinn. Director Jack Aherne won the ‘Best Director’ award and Sean Ahern from this production winning Best Actor for his portrayal of the scatty private detective ‘Mick Tracy’.

Second place went to Gorey Little Theatre’s production of James Wesley’s ‘Unbroken Circle’ with Jan Cullen taking the ‘best Actress’ award for this section for her role as the mother ‘Ruby’. In addition this group won the Donal McSweeney award for Lighting.

Nenagh players who presented Neil Kempinski’s moving ‘Duet for One’ took third place with Kevin Walshe who played Dr. Feldman being awarded ‘Best Supporting Actor’ for this section. They also won the Ned Barrett Cup for Sound.

The Jack Murphy plaque for Set was awarded to Bridge Drama who presented Michael Cooney’s comedy ‘Cash on Delivery’ and their set builders also won a spcial adjudicator award.  This production also won the ‘Most Entertaining’ play award.

Special adjudicator awards were presented to the Catering team of the West Cork Drama Festival and to the Kilmeen Drama Group for community achievement with their production of ‘The Shaughraun’ by Dion Boucicault with a special mention of the dog ‘Tara’ who tread the boards.

The Festival Committee would like to thank all the festival patrons, sponsors and supporters. Do check out for forthcoming events.

Latest News Articles:

West Cork girls among first to earn Irish Girl Guides’ new engineering badge
What is GDPR and who does it affect?
Kinsale historic map project launched
Dunmanway launches year-long celebration of Sam Maguire
Sam Maguire School Tour launched
Fundraising drive to get Kinsale students to World Robotics Championships to Kentucky
Answer the Call to save lives on March 23
Clonakilty students return from trip of a lifetime to rural Malawi
Clonakilty Fairtrade Fortnight celebrates 15 years
€44 million to improve Cork roads

Join us on Facebook

... See MoreSee Less

13th April, 2018  ·  

An evening on the 'Balance of Feeling Good' by Clonakilty Gaa Club Health and Wellbeing Committee followed by Guest Speaker, Cork GAA Chairperson, Tracey Kennedy.

Paddy Duggan, former Principal of Clonakilty Community College, will be MC on the night, facilitating a discussion on getting the balance of feeling good.
Contributors on the night are Colm Sheehy, Conor Murray, David Lowney, Denis Murphy, Eoghan Deasy, Sean McEvoy, Thomas Clancy and Treasa O'Brien.
Topics covered will range from awareness and responsibility to yourself and others to the benefits of exercise and nutrition.
The evening is suitable for everyone aged 16 and over from players, members of the community, parents of young and adolescent children, etc.

This is a public event, free of charge and everyone is invited and very welcome to attend.
... See MoreSee Less

12th April, 2018  ·  

The Cast of Harold Pinter’s ‘No Man’s Land’ are on their way to the All-Ireland finals, having won 26 awards, including five best of Festivals, at the Amateur Drama League of Ireland annual three act festivals. The play ‘No Man’s Land, by Harold Pinter, the Nobel Prize Winning Author is directed by Jennifer Williams.

One last opportunity to view this multi award winning play at Skibbereen Town Hall, on Saturday 14th of April, before the finals.

Having met by chance in a pub, two aging writers continue a long night of drinking and reminiscing in a stately London home. As the night wears on, their conversation wanders through memories long forgotten or invented. Is their encounter real or a delusion? Are they strangers or do they share a past history? When unexpected guests intrude upon an increasingly surreal evening, the atmosphere quickly changes from friendly to threatening, and the encounter becomes a game of survival.

Tickets may be purchased at the door or in advance by emailing

For more information please contact
... See MoreSee Less

9th April, 2018  ·  

Jump to: